Postdoctoral Scientist Program

Postdoctoral Training

2016 Malaniak Awards* 

Cedars-Sinai recognizes the critical role of postdoctoral scientists and other junior researchers in the fulfillment of its commitment to expand the horizons of medical knowledge through biomedical research. We realize that research training is an ongoing process that continues beyond PhD/MD graduation.

Approximately 100 postdocs conduct research at Cedars-Sinai, where they receive advanced training with a faculty mentor for up to 5 years to prepare them for their next career step. Cedars-Sinai postdocs are encouraged to pursue careers in academia, industry or other research-related areas depending on their unique skills and interests, and our experienced career counselor is available to provide guidance throughout their postdoctoral training.

Cedars-Sinai is a Sustaining Member of the National Postdoctoral Association.

Postdoctoral Scientist Program

The Cedars-Sinai Postdoctoral Scientist Program provides institutional support for postdocs and their mentors (see Mission Statement). In collaboration with institutional stakeholders, including the Office of Graduate Research Education and Academic Human Resources, the program develops resources for research and career development.

Postdoc Society

The Cedars-Sinai Postdoc Society was established to foster a network of junior researchers and encourage collaboration. It is run by postdocs, for postdocs. The primary activity of the Postdoc Society is the monthly Gathering for Postdoctoral Science (GPS), which provides postdocs with opportunities to present their work and network with other postdocs. The Postdoc Society also organizes other research-related and social events.


* Malaniak award finalists, judges and program staff: (front row, from left) Brennan Spiegel, MD, MSHS, award committee chair and site director of the UCLA Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI); Shan-Shan Zhang, PhD, award winner; Szu-Ting Chou, PhD, award finalist; Geoffrey de Couto, PhD, award winner; Sabrina Mueller, PhD, award finalist; Roberta Gottlieb, MD, judge; Marzieh Salehi, MD, program director of the Cedars-Sinai Clinical and Translational Research Center; (back row, from left) Denis Magoffin, PhD, judge; Vaithilingaraja Arumugaswami, MVSc, PhD, judge; Marilyn Ader, PhD, judge; Mariko Ishimori, MD, CTSI associate director; Gislâine Martins, PhD, judge; and Ekihiro Seki, MD, PhD, judge.